Back to Blog

Seasons Of The Earth

Seasons in a sense are the earth’s way of changing its mood. For humans, however, seasons shape our lives. Seasons determine when we plant and when we harvest when we go to the beach or to the fireplace, and when we put on a sweater or a swimsuit. It also influences the happiness of humans because more people feel happier during summer than in winter. 

There are generally four seasons in the world namely; Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter. All other seasons in some parts of the world may differ; however, they still remain somehow related to these seasons.

Each of these seasons lasts for 3 months and one begins immediately after the previous is over.

Spring is known for rainfall, rejuvenation, growth, and it is the season that ushers in the earth’s green scenery. This green nature of Spring indicates fruitfulness. 

Summer is known for more sunlight and hotter temperature.

Autumn or fall is the period of harvest when plants bring forth their produce and shed their leaves or in some cases wither off in preparation for the winter and a new fruitful cycle in spring.

Winter is known for the least sunlight and freezing temperatures.

The way seasons around the world works can be tricky and complex to understand. This is so because the earth is divided into two main parts namely; the Northern Hemisphere and the Southern Hemisphere.

In the Northern Hemisphere which includes; Europe, North America, A vast majority of Asia and also the majority of Africa, and some parts of South America;

Spring starts from March 1 to May 31;

Summer starts from June 1 to August 31;

Autumn starts from September 1 to November 30;

Winter starts from December 1 to February 28 or February 29 in a leap year.

The Northern Hemisphere contains 87.0% of the earth’s population and contains more land than the Southern Hemisphere.

In the Southern Hemisphere which includes; Australia, Antarctica, Parts of Africa, and the majority of South America;

Spring starts on September 1 and ends on November 30;

Summer starts on December 1 and ends on February 28 or February 29 in a Leap Year;

Autumn starts from March 1 to May 31; and

Winter starts on June 1 and ends on August 31.

The Southern Hemisphere contains 12% of the earth’s population.

This means that when it is winter in the Northern Hemisphere, it is summer in the southern hemisphere and when it is Autumn in the Northern Hemisphere, it is Spring in the Southern Hemisphere.

Note that while this is used to define the time of seasons in many parts of the world, there are still other places such as Iceland, Sweden, and others where the seasons are different from the majority of the world.

In West Africa, the winter experience is known as harmattan. Harmattan is a type of weather that brings with it a cold desert-like atmosphere.

Harmattan is different from winter because while harmattan is cold, dusty, and windy, winter is cold and wet.

So while other parts of the world experience the snowy winter, parts of Africa experience a different version of winter which is dusty and hazy like a desert.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Blog